Home Music Fox Valley artists bring home WAMIs

Fox Valley artists bring home WAMIs


The Fox Valley and surrounding region was well represented among award winners at one of the great annual celebrations of Wisconsin music.

The Wisconsin Area Music Industry honored the state’s best during its 39th Annual Awards Show on April 14. Len Nelson of WAPL hosted the show amid an electric atmosphere at Milwaukee’s Turner Hall Ballroom.

Awards were given in 37 categories.

Appleton jazz vocalist Erin Krebs was named female vocalist of the year for 2019 after taking home a WAMI last year in the jazz category.

Oshkosh’s Star Six Nine and Green Bay’s Project Pink took home the awards for cover artist and tribute artist, respectively.

Luma Knotty, out of Green Bay, won in the World/Reggae/ska/Latin category.

Appleton’s Noah Harmon was named keyboardist of the year while Chris Hanaway of Green Bay was named the state’s top bassist.

Parker Collar, 15, of Appleton, was named 2019’s Rising Star.

People’s Choice Awards for Northeast Wisconsin went to RPM for band of the year and Mark Budwit for teacher of the year. WAPL-FM 105.7 won the People’s Choice Award for radio station. Stone Toad Bar & Grill received the award for venue and Doris Budwit was named the region’s fan of the year.

People’s Choice Awards were based on the vote of the general public.

2019 WAMI winners are as follows:

Artist of the Year: Lex Allen

Album of the Year: “Women at War: Warrior Songs Vol. 2,” Warrior Songs

Song of the Year: “Only in Dreams,” Amanda Huff and Peter Thomas

New Artist of the Year: The Docksiders

Male Vocalist of the Year: Andre Beaudot

Female Vocalist of the Year: Erin Krebs

Singer-Songwriter of the Year: Keith Pulvermacher

Rising Star of the Year: Parker Collar

Alternative Rock/Rock Artist: Amberstein

Bluegrass/Americana Artist: Horseshoes & Hand Grenades

Christian/Gospel Artist: Spirited Strings

Blues Artist: Jay Edward

Country Artist: Buffalo Gospel

Cover Artist: Star Six Nine

Folk/Celtic Artist: Reilly

Hard Rock Artist: Lords of the Trident

Metal Artist: Revolution-X

Punk Artist: The Cherrypops

Jazz Artist: Jerry Grillo

Polka Artist: The November Criminals

Pop Rock Artist: Well-Known Strangers

Hip-Hop/Rap Artist: Zed Kenzo

R&B/Soul Artist: The People Brothers Band

World/Reggae/Ska/Latin: Luma Knotty

Club/DJ/Dance/Electronic Artist: Luxi

Horn/Big Band Artist: Extra Crispy Brass Band

Tribute Artist: Project Pink

Bass: Chris Hanaway

Drummer: Jim Winter

Guitarist: Angie Swan

Keyboard: Noah Harmon

Reeds/Brass: Michael Clobes

Strings: Joe Ketchum

Best Studio Engineer/Producer: Steve Hamilton

Best Recording Studio: Tanner-Monagle Inc.

Best Live Club/Venue: Shank Hall

Best Live Engineer Sound/Lights: Jason Lueck

President’s Award: Beth Kille

People’s Choice, Southwest: Cherry Pie (best band); Jan Baker (best teacher); WGLX-FM 103.3 (best radio station); Hollyrocks (best venue); Jaeden Piller (fan)

People’s Choice, Northwest: The Dweebs (band); Brian McLaughlin (teacher); WIFC-FM 95.5 (radio station); Schuggy’s (venue); Leanne Booher (fan)

People’s Choice, Northeast: RPM (band); Mark Budwit (teacher); WAPL-FM 105.7 (radio station); Stone Toad Bar & Grill (venue); Doris Budwit (fan)

People’s Choice, Southeast: Almighty Vinyl (band); Jim Walski (teacher); WHQG-FM 102.9 (radio station); The Saloon on Calhoun (venue); Bradley John (fan)

Hall of Fame: Paul Cebar, the Chordettes, Realm

Leave a Reply